Information Technology HelpDesk

Faculty / Staff - How to recover a deleted item from a network share drive

 

 

Accidents happen and from time to time, you may find yourself needing a file that has been accidentally deleted from your H: or S: drive.  Fortunately, the H: and S: drives are backed up hourly and you can restore deleted files as far back as 16 weeks.

Viewing the snapshot folder

Backup files are stored in a hidden directory on the network in a folder called ~snapshot. To access this ~snapshot directory you will must un-hide this folder.

To view a hidden folder

Double-click the Computer icon on your desktop

Click the network drive that holds the deleted or missing file

If you see a folder called ~snapshot proceed to Recovering a deleted file from a network drive.  If you do not see this folder, you will have to enable the Show hidden files and folders option.

 

- Click Organize

- Click Folder and Search Options

- Click the View Tab.

In Advanced settings you should see Hidden files and folders.

- Click the Show hidden files, folders, and drives -ON

- Click the Apply button.

- Click the OK button.

 

You should now see a lightened folder titled ~snapshot, located at the top of the network drive folder listings.  This ~snapshot folder hosts the backed up files.

 

Recovering a deleted file from a network share drive

Once the ~snapshot folder is available and can be viewed, you can search for the missing or deleted file(s) or folder(s) on your network share drive.

- Double click the ~snapshot folder to enter the backup space

NOTE: You can search through hourly, nightly and weekly backups of this network share drive.  Each folder contains a duplicate or snapshot of your network share drive from a particular point in time.  The further you scroll down, the older the backup.

 

You can search as far back as you need to find your lost files or folders.

- Search through the file(s) and folder(s) until you find the file(s) or folder(s) that was deleted

- Once you have found the file you want to restore, copy the file to your desktop

- Navigate out of the ~snapshot folder and return to your network share drive

The deleted file(s) or folder(s) are now restored. You can edit the restored files and return them to the network share drive.

Rating:Rating of 1 Stars4 Votes
Was this answer helpful?YesNo

Help Topics

Topic Information
  • Topic #: 8241-1320
  • Date Created: 6/18/2013
  • Last Modified Since: 8/14/2013
  • Viewed: 13247
Welcome Guest